Editorial Board

We have designed the journal to have disciplinary breadth, scientific rigor, and open communication across all of the aquatic sciences. We strive to maintain a diverse editorial board across many dimensions that is made up of the world’s leading aquatic scientists at all career levels. Below is the board structure and the current editorial board members.

The editorial team will be guided by the following guiding principles: to maintain high scientific and journal standards and implement rigorous and fair peer review based on a foundation of scientific integrity; to foster effective, inclusive, and productive working relationships through active communication and transparent operations; to strive to represent the full aquatic science community in an unbiased way related to topics published and board representation; and to foster open science by making research products accessible including text, data and code. In addition, the editorial team will strive to conduct all activities as quickly as possible to ensure timely review and publication, without sacrificing the above guiding principles.


Patricia A. Soranno
Michigan State University, USA

Managing Editor

Rachel Yehl

Senior Editors

Mark A. Altabet
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth, USA

Jill S. Baron
Colorado State University, USA

Claudia Benitez-Nelson
University of South Carolina, USA

Carla E. Cáceres
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

James E. Cloern
U.S. Geological Survey, USA

Jonathan J Cole
Cary Institute of Ecosystem Studies, USA

Daniel Conley
Lund University, Sweden

Carlos M. Duarte
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia

Emily H. Stanley
University of Wisconsin, USA

Associate Editors

N. John Anderson
Loughborough University, England

Meryem Beklio─člu
Middle East Technical University, Turkey

Alberto Vieira Borges
University of Liège, Belgium

Kristen Buck
University of South Florida, USA

Kenda Spence Cheruvelil
Michigan State University, USA

Henrieta Dulaiova
University of Hawaii, USA

Rana El-Sabaawi
University of Victoria, Canada

Peter J.S. Franks
University of California, San Diego, USA

Patricia M. Glibert
University of Maryland, USA

Anna Gårdmark
Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden

Elise Granek
Portland State University, USA

James B. Hefferman
Duke University, USA

Iris Eline Hendriks
University of the Balearic Islands, Spain

Dag Olav Hessen
University of Oslo, Norway

Vera L. M. Huszar
Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Jeffrey W. Krause
University of South Alabama, USA

Peter R. Leavitt
University of Regina, Canada

Catherine E. Lovelock

University of Queensland, Australia

Jack J. Middelburg
Utrecht University, Netherlands

Margaret R. Mulholland
Old Dominion University, USA

Jordan S. Read

Jennifer S. Rehage
Florida International University, USA

Barbara Robson
CSIRO, Australia

Michael Roman
University of Maryland, USA

Mark Scheuerell
NOAA Northwest Fisheries Science Center, USA

Jennifer L. Tank
University of Notre Dame, USA

Lars J. Tranvik
Uppsala University, Sweden

Yvonne Vadeboncoeur
Wright State University, USA

Ellen van Donk
Netherlands Institute of Ecology, Netherlands

Gesa A. Weyhenmeyer
Uppsala University, Sweden

Angelicque E. White
Oregon State University, USA

Monika Winder
Stockholm University, Sweden

Journal Production

John Wiley & Sons
Limnology and Oceanography